Myself


I have to live with myself, and so
I want to be fit for myself to know.
I want to be able as time goes by
Always to look myself in the eye.
I don’t want to stand with the setting sun
And hate myself for the things I’ve done.

I don’t want to hide on a closet shelf
A lot of secrets about myself,
And fool myself as I come and go
Into thinking that no one else will know
The kind of a man I really am
I don’t want to cover myself with sham.

I want to go out with my head erect
I want to deserve all men’s respect.
Here in this battle for fame and pelf
I want to be able to like myself.
I don’t want to look at myself and know
That I’m bluster and bluff and empty show.

For I cannot hide myself from me
Nor from my God who loveth me
And knoweth all I say and do,
So to HIM I would ere be true.
I want to live so honestly
That He will be well pleased with me.

You don’t have to tell how you’ve lived each day,
You don’t have to say if you work or play.
For a wondrous barometer serves in its place,
However you live, it will show in your face.

The sin and deceit that you wear in your heart
Will not stay inside where it first got its start.
A hypocrite’s smile is a thin veil of lace;
What you have in your heart will show through your face.

If your life is unselfish, if for others you live,
Not for what you can get but what you can give,
If you live close to God in His infinite grace,
You don’t have to say so it shows on your face.
in your face.

Poem by Margaretta Susannah MacKinnon (nee Jackson)

Google+

Find me on Google Plus +Valmay Young

Leave a Reply

