Our day watching the Olympic Torch Relay 2012 at Bury St Edmunds


Image of the Olympic Torch We were lucky enough to be able to watch the Olympic torch relay at Beetons Way, Bury St Edmunds on Saturday 7th July 2012 at the point where the torch was being passed over to Beijing 2008 Paralympic wheelchair racer Brian Alldis. Well I was, but not my partner and another lady, who were in wheelchairs, were not and missed the whole thing due to some very spiteful people deliberately standing in front of us just before the torch passed. When we politely asked the people to stand to one side a bit, pointing out that they were totally blocking my partners view, the bloke said “We were here before them and they parked themselves right in front of us, so serves them right”. Remember that my partner and the other lady are in wheelchairs sitting down. This bloke and his wife are standing and taller than me and I’m 5ft 4inches, so no way was my partner blocking their view. There were plenty of other places the people could have stood nearby, as you will see in the video, but not many places my partner could get to easily. Luckily I took this video we watched when we got home, but not quite the same thing as seeing it for real.

;

Leave a Reply

