Valmay’s Family History(onics) blogiversary!


I felt terribly guilty when I saw this tweet from @Geneabloggers on Twitter this morning and realised I hadn’t blogged on my blog for two months.

Unfortunately I don’t get to spend as much time as I would like on my own research at the moment due to family commitments. What spare time I do have tends to be spent on FIBIS webmaster/trustee related duties.

If you are interested on what I have been up to since I last blogged here is a list!

  • The Geoff Riggs Award – I was very excited when the FIBIS website won Best overall website in the Federation of Family History Societies Geoff Griggs Award. Read more about the award
  • I finished putting together and launched the FIBIS Image Gallery website. The FIBIS Gallery uses a web-based program designed to upload, organize and archive photographs. It supports tagging, categories, geo-referencing, timelines and practically every other on-line sorting tool you can think of!
  • Upgraded and redesigned the main FIBIS website. I won’t bore you with the details, but if you are interested you can read more in this FIBIS blog post.
  • Upgraded and redesigned the FIBIS Social Network website.
  • Along with other trustees I have been helping to organise the first ever FIBIS Conference for 2014 and put together a website devoted to the conference at http://www.conference2014.fibis.org/

Admittedly most of this work was carried out over a long period of time and just happened to be finished since I last blogged, but hopefully you will be interested in what I have been up to anyhow!

Although I don’t get to blog here as often as I would like, I do post on the FIBIS blog regularly if you are interested.

About Valmay Young

Family historian, collector of antiquarian books and postcards of British India, Website, social media manager and trustee of the Families In British India Society.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

