Christmas wishes from the Kuhlmey family in 1920’s Berlin


In 1896 my Great Great Grandfather, Gustav Kuhlmey, died in India of consumption. The family had lived there for the last ten years or so due to Gustav working in India as a Bandmaster with various regiments. My Great Grandfathers three brothers Franz, Gustav and Siegfried were sent back to Berlin to live with their grandparents, but my Great Grandfather, Wolfram Kuhlmey, was only two years old so he stayed in India with his mother and sisters. Although all my Great Grandfather sisters remained in India, the youngest, Elsa, joined her brothers in Berlin sometime in the 1920’s. Every Christmas they would take a photograph of the Kuhlmey family celebrations and send it to my Great Grandfather in India. Here are the only three remaining photographs I have.

Although they are undated I know they must have been taken after 1920, as Franz is not in the photographs and he died in March 1920. I also know they must have been taken before 1932 when Elsa died.

I only wish I knew who all the other people in the photographs are! Gustav and Siegfried didn’t have any children, but Franz had two daughters, Margot and Charlotte. They are too young to be any of the other women in the photographs though. The rest could be family or friends.

Leave a Reply

